We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Content Ruins

by Spencer Owen Timeshare

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    At the time of this recording's release, the members of Timeshare decided that, should you decide to purchase this recording digitally, all proceeds would be split evenly between the San Francisco-Marin Food Bank and the Alameda County Community Food Bank. As such, this will remain the case for as long as the option to purchase this recording is available. Thanks for checking it out.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $7 USD  or more


Water 03:33


CONTENT RUINS is the second set of recordings by the San Francisco Bay Area sophisti-pop combo Spencer Owen Timeshare. It comprises three (3) new full-band recordings by the Timeshare lineup, three (3) remixed versions of songs from the 2019 Timeshare album PRESENTATION, and one (1) new solo recording by Spencer Owen.

This mini-album is a full-length collaboration with New Jersey-based artist John Acquadro (Goodbye The Band). John produced the PRESENTATION remixes, mixed all seven (7) tracks, wrote the song “Thomas Curse” (a staple of the band’s repertoire), and selected “Meredith My Dear” from Spencer’s 2004 concept album MEREDITH to be revisited for this release.

If the PRESENTATION LP was intended to represent 7+ years of Spencer Owen Timeshare as a drum-tight live baroque-yacht-pop outfit, then CONTENT RUINS is a dreamt-in-studio alternate history, the band’s compositions and performances gilded with/refracted by glassy reflection, bouncing back blue skies and monitor light.

RIYL: Laurie Anderson, hook-oriented vaporwave, XTC, mixed feelings about Las Vegas, Jim O’Rourke, Kate NV, Prefab Sprout, Y2K alt, Field Music, Moondog’s ELPMAS.


released April 24, 2020

Spencer Owen Timeshare are:
Richard Caceres, Ryan Fitzgerald, Alex Genco, Eugene Marder, Spencer Owen, and Joel Reber

John Acquadro - remix production (1, 4, 6); production (5, 7)
Spencer Owen - executive producer (all tracks); production (2, 3, 5, 7)

Vocals & instrumentation:
Alex Genco - drums (2, 3, 5)
Eugene Marder - bass (1-3, 5, 6)
Joel Reber - alto saxophone (2-6)
John Acquadro - electronics (1, 3, 4); ride cymbal (7)
Richard Caceres - keyboards (2, 3, 5, 6)
Ryan Fitzgerald - guitar (2-6)
Spencer Owen - vocals (1-5, 7); tambourine (2); arpeggiated synthesizer (3); piano (5); vibraphone (6); bass (7); guitar (7)

Writing and composition:
Joel Reber - alto saxophone improvisation (2, 4, 6)
John Acquadro - writing and composition (2); coda section (4)
Ryan Fitzgerald - additional melodic content (3); guitar improvisation (5, 6)
Spencer Owen - writing and composition (1, 3-7); additional melodic content (2)
…and all other credited instrumentalists for their innumerable singular contributions.

Jason Kick @ SANTO Recording - recording (1-6)
John Acquadro - mixing (all tracks); remix engineering (1, 4); additional engineering (7)
Michael Ulrich @ Abbey Road West - recording (2, 3, 5, 7)
Piper Payne @ Infrasonic Sound - mastering (all tracks)

Ryan Fitzgerald - cover layout
Spencer Owen - cover concept; cover photo

Alec Owen, Bob Woods-LaDue, John Acquadro, and Sean Smith - being the collective 7th member of SOT
All listeners and friends - being listeners and friends
Everyone who booked & played shows for/with us - doing this
Lisbeth Ortega - naming our band

Listen to:
Goodbye The Band




Spencer Owen Los Angeles, California

Also of Spencer Owen Timeshare.

Elevator music for the best elevator ride of your life.

contact / help

Contact Spencer Owen

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Content Ruins, you may also like: